The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    University of Houston
   
 
  Feb 19, 2018
 
 
    
2016-2017 Graduate Catalog [Not Current Academic Year. Consult with Your Academic Advisor for Your Catalog Year]

Faculty: College of Architecture


Colleges  > Gerald D. Hines College of Architecture  > Faculty: College of Architecture

Yared Akalou, Lecturer.  Bachelor of Art-Communications, Texas Southern University; Master of Product Design, Illinois Institute of Technology, Institute of Design.  yakalou2@uh.edu

Leonard Bachman, Professor, Registered Architect.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Master of Architecture, University of Houston.  lbachman@uh.edu

Olga Bannova, Research Associate Professor.  Bachelor of Architecture, Moscow Architectural Institute; Master of Science in Space Architecture, University of Houston; Master of Architecture, University of Houston.  obannova@uh.edu

Larry Bell, A.I.A.A., ASCE. Professor and Director of Sasakawa International Center for Space Architecture; Registered Architect.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; Master of Fine Arts, University of Illinois.  lbell@uh.edu

Elizabeth Bollinger, Professor.  Bachelor of Science in Mathmatics, Louisiana State University; Post-Baccalaureate in Mathematics, Yale University; Master of Architecture, University of Houston; Master of Arts in Mathematics, Louisiana State University.  ebollinger@uh.edu

Cord Bowen, IDSA. Adjunct Assistant Professor and Coordinator Foundation Studios, semesters 1-3 in Architecture, Interior Architecture, Industrial Design. University of Houston.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Master of Architecture, Parsons School of Design; Master of Business Administration, University of Houston.  cbowen3@uh.edu

Fernando Brave, FAIA. Lecturer. Bachelor of Architecture, Universidad de Belgrano; Master of Architecture, University of Houston.  fbrave@uh.edu

Geoffrey Brune, FAIA. Professor and Director of Honors Thesis Programs. Coordinator Comprehensive Design Studios, semesters 7+8; Registered Architect.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Certificate for Studies in Historic Preservation, Texas A&M University; Master of Science in Architecture, Texas A&M University.  gbrune@uh.edu

Robert Burrow, Lecturer. Registered Architect.  Bachelor of Architecture, Southern California Institute of Architecture; Master of Architecture, Harvard University Graduate School of Design.  rburrow2@uh.edu

Sharon Chapman, Lecturer.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston;Master of Science in Architecture, University of Houston.  schapman@uh.edu

Joseph Colaco, Ph.D., PE. Professor. Registered Professional Engineer-Texas.  Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering, University of Bombay, India; Master of Science Civil Engineering, University of Illinois; California (Structural), California (Civil). Doctorate of Civil Engineering, University of Illinois.  jcolaco@uh.edu

Thomas Colbert, AIA. Associate Professor and Registered Architect, Texas.  Honors Diploma in Architecture, Cambridge University, UK; AB in Architecture and Urban Planning, Princeton University.  tcolbert@uh.edu

Alejandro Colom, Lecturer.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Master of Science in Achitectural Studies, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.  acolom@uh.edu

Carl Conlee, IV., Lecturer.  Bachelor of Fine Arts-Industrial Design, Rhode Island School of Design.  csconlee@uh.edu

Scott Cutlip, AIA. Lecturer. Registered Architect, LEED Accredited.  Bachelor of Environmental Design, Texas A&M University; Master of Architecture, University of Houston.  scutlip@uh.edu

Tom Diehl, Associate Professor and Coordinator, Intermediate Studios, semesters 4-6, and Registered Architect.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Graduate Diploma of Architecture, Architectural Association School of Architecture, London, UK.  tdiehl@uh.edu

Marc El-Khouri, Lecturer. Registered Architect in Beirut, Lebanon at the ordre des ingenieurs et architects du liban.  Bachelor of Architecture, Rhode Island School of Design; Bachelor of Fine Arts, Rhode Island School of Design; Master of Architecture-Urban Design, Harvard University Graduate School Of Design.  mel-khouri@uh.edu

“Duke” Fleshman,  Adjunct Assistant Professor and Research Assistant Professor, Registered Architect, and Registered Interior Designer.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Bachelor of Business Administration, University of Oklahoma; Master of Architecture, University of Houston.  ffleshman@uh.edu

Wendy Fok, Assistant Professor, Coordinator Digital Media.  Bachelor of Arts (Architecture/Economics), Columbia University, Barnard College; Certification Urban Policy and Planning, Woodrow Wilson School of Public & International Affairs; Master of Architecture, Princeton University, School of Architecture.  wfok@uh.edu

Stephen Fox, Adjunct Associate Professor.  Bachelor of Architecture, Rice University.  sfox3@uh.edu

Dietmar Froehlich, Associate Professor and Co-Director Graduate Studies and Coordinator Levels I + II Design, Registered Architect, Texas and Austria.  Diplom-Ingenieur für Architektur, Technical University Graz, Austria; Master of Architecture, University of Houston.  dfroehlich@uh.edu

Victoria Goldstein, Adjunct Assistant Professor.  Bachelor of Architecture, FADU, University of Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, Argentina; Master of Architecture + Urbanism, Architectural Association School of Architecture, London, UK.  vgoldstein@uh.edu

Michael Gonzales, Lecturer.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Bachelor of Science in Environmental Design, University of Houston; Master of Science in Advanced Architectural Design, GSAPP, Columbia University.  magonzales@uh.edu

Robert Griffin, Associate Professor and Registered Architect.  Bachelor of Architecture, Auburn University.  rgriffin3@uh.edu

Jack Hanna, Associate Professor in the School of Art.  Bachelor of Professional Arts in Industrial Design, Art Center College of Design; Master of Fine Arts in Industrial Design, University of Illinois, Urbana.  jhanna@uh.edu

Paul Homeyer, AIA. Lecturer, Registered Architect, LEED Accredited Professional.  Bachelor of Environmental Design, Texas A&M University; Master of Architecture, University of Texas at Austin.  phomeyer@uh.edu

Chan Q. Huynh, Lecturer, LEED Accredited Professional.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Bachelor of Science in Environmental Design, University of Houston; Master of Science in Architecture, University of Houston.  chuynh@uh.edu

Meg Jackson, Lecturer.  Bachelor of Arts in History of Art and Architecture, Middlebury College; Master of Architecture, Columbia University.  mhjackson@uh.edu

Matthew Johnson, AIA. Assistant Professor and Registered Architect.  Bachelor of Arts in Political Science with Humanities Honors, Stanford University; Master of Architecture, Yale University.  mjohnson13@uh.edu

Donna Kacmar, FAIA. Associate Professor. Director, Materials Research Collaborative Registered Architect LEED 2.1 Accredited.  Bachelor of Environmental Design, Texas A&M University; Master of Architecture, Columbia University.  Dkacmar@uh.edu

Lannis Kirkland, Assistant Professor and Associate Dean and Director of Undergraduate Programs, Registered Architect, and Registered Interior Designer.  Bachelor of Architecture, Auburn University; Master of Architecture, Rice University.  lkirkland@uh.edu

EunSook Kwon, Ph.D., IDSA. Associate Professor and Director of Industrial Design Program and Coordinator Industrial Design.  Bachelor of Fine Arts in Industrial Design, Seoul National University, Korea; Master of Fine Arts in Industrial Design, Seoul National University, Korea; Master of Arts in Industrial Design Education, The Ohio State University; Doctorate of Arts Education, The Ohio State University.  ekwon@uh.edu

Nora Laos, Ph.D. Lecturer.  Bachelor of Science in Architectural Studies, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; Master of Fine Arts in Art and Archeology, Princeton University; Master of Architecture; University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; Ph.D., Department of Art and Archaeology, Princeton University.  nlaos@uh.edu

William Lidwell, Lecturer.  Bachelor of Art in Psychology, Texas State University; Master of Science in Instructional Technology, University of Houston-Clear Lake.  wmlidwell@uh.edu

Robert Lindsey, Professor Emeritus, Registered Architect, and Registered Interior Designer.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Bachelor of Science, University of Houston; Master of  Architecture, Columbia University.

Jason Logan, Lecturer.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Master of Science in Advanced Architectural Design, Columbia University.  jlogan@uh.edu

Rafael Longoria. ACSA Distinguished Professor and Co-Director Graduate Studies and Coordinator, Level III Design, Registered Architect.  Bachelor of Architecture, Rice University; Bachelor of Arts in Architecture and History of Art, Rice University; Master of Business Administration, University of Texas at Austin.  longoria@uh.edu

Gary Machicek, AIA, LEED AP. Visiting Assistant Professor.  Bachelor of Environmental Design, Texas A+M University; Master of Architecture, Rice University.  gmachicek@uh.edu

Gregory Marinic, AIA, ACSA, NCARB, IIDA, IFI, IDEC. Assistant Professor, Director of Interior Architecture.  Bachelor of Science Geography/Urban Planning, Ohio University; Master of Architecture, University of Maryland.  gnmarinic@uh.edu

Joe Mashburn, FAIA, IDSA. Adjunct Professor, Registered Architect: Texas and Australia.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Master of Architecture, Texas A&M University.  mashburn@uh.edu

Joseph “Mac” McManus, AIA. Adjunct Associate Professor, Registered Architect, Registered Interior Designer.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Bachelor of Arts, University of Houston; Master of Architecture, University of Houston.  jmcmanus2@uh.edu

Joe Meppelink, Adjunct Assistant Professor and Director of Applied Research.  Bachelor of Science in Architecture, University of Michigan; Master of Architecture, Rice University.  jmeppelink@uh.edu

Zui Lig Ng, Lecturer.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Master of Science in Architecture, Cornell University.  zng2@uh.edu

Peter Noldt, Adjunct Assistant Professor.  Bachelor of Science, Texas A&M University; Master of Architecture, University of Houston.  pnoldt@uh.edu

Patricia Belton Oliver, FAIA. Dean and Professor, Registered Architect-California.  Bachelor of Arts, University of California, Los Angeles; Master of Architecture I, University of California, Los Angeles.  poliver@uh.edu

Luisa Orto, Ph.D. Lecturer.  Bachelor of Arts, Boston University; Master of Arts, New York University, Institute of Fine Arts; Doctorate, New York University, Institute of Fine Arts.  lorto@uh.edu

Patrick Peters, Professor and Director of the Graduate Design/Build Studio, LEED Accredited Professional, Registered Architect, NCARB Certified.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Cincinnati; Master of Architecture, Rice University.  ppeters@uh.edu

Roya Plauché, Lecturer.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Master of Science - Advanced Architecture Design, Columbia University.  rplauche@uh.edu

James Ray, Lecturer.  Bachelor of Environmental Design, Texas A&M University; Master of Architecture, Harvard University Graduate School of Design.  jlray2@uh.edu

Shafik Rifaat, AIA, AICP, ASID. Professor and Coordinator, Urban Design, Registered Architect-Texas, Virginia, Egypt, NCARB Certified.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Alexandria, Egypt; Master of City Planning, Harvard University; Master of Architecture, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.  srifaat@uh.edu

Christopher Robertson, Lecturer.  Bachelor of Architecture - Geography, University of Texas at Austin; Master of Architecture, University of Texas at Austin.  cnrobertson@uh.edu

Marta Rodriguez, Ph.D. Assistant Professor.  International Ph.D. in Advanced Architectural Projects, Madrid School of Architecture (ETSAM). MartaR@uh.edu

Susan Rogers, Assistant Professor/Faculty Fellow and Director, Community Design Resource Center.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston; Master of City Planning, University of California, Berkeley; Master of Architecture, University of California, Berkeley.  srogers@uh.edu

Michelangelo Sabatino, Ph.D. Associate Professor and Coordinator, History/Theory. Laurea in Architettura, Istituto Universitario di Architettura di Venezia; Doctorate in Fine Art, University of Toronto.  msabatino@uh.edu

Ronnie Self. Associate Professor and Registered Architect - Texas and France.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Texas at Austin; Diplôme d’Études Approfondies, Université de Paris I - Panthéon-Sorbonne; Certificat d’Études Approfondies en Architecture, École d’Architecture Paris-Villemin.  rself@uh.edu

Kevin Story, AIA. Lecturer, Registered Architect. Bachelor of Architecture, University of Houston.  jstory@uh.edu

Rives Taylor, FAIA. Adjunct Associate Professor. Registered Architect, LEED BD+C Accredited.  Bachelor of Architecture, Rice University; Bachelor of Arts, Rice University; Master of Science in Architecture, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.  rtaylor2@uh.edu

James Thomas, FAIA. Lecturer. Registered Architect. Bachelor of Science, Rice University.

William “Bill” Truitt, Assistant Professor and Coordinator Intermediate Design-semesters 7-10, Registered Architect: Texas and New York.  Bachelor of Environmental Design, Texas A&M University; Master of Architecture, Syracuse University.  wtruitt@uh.edu

John H. Tsai, AIA. Lecturer, Registered Architect, LEED Accredited Professional.  Bachelor of Architecture, Art and Planning, Cornell University; Master of Architecture, Harvard University Graduate School of Design.  jhtsai@uh.edu

Drexel Turner, Visiting Assistant Professor. Director, Summer Discovery.  Bachelor of Arts, Rice University; Master of Science, University of Texas at Austin. dturner2@uh.edu

Evan Twyford, Lecturer.  Bachelor of Fine Arts in Industrial Design, Rhode Island School of Design. estwyford@uh.edu

Andrew Vrana, AIA. Visiting Assistant Professor, Registered Architect.  Bachelor of Environmental Design, Texas A&M University; Master of Architecture, Columbia University. avrana@uh.edu

Gordon Vos, Ph.D. Lecturer.  Bachelor of Science-Bio-Environmental Science, Texas A&M University; Master of Science-Industrial Hygiene, Texas A&M University; Doctorate in Human Factors and Engineering, Texas A&M University.  gavos@uh.edu

Bruce Webb, Adjunct Professor. Professor, Retired. Bachelor of Architecture, Montana State University; Bachelor of Arts, Allegheny College; Master of Architecture and Urban Design, Virginia Polytechnic State University.  bwebb@uh.edu

Adam Wells, Adjunct Assistant Professor. Masters in Industrial Design, Domus Academy, Italy; Bachelor of Fine Arts, Sculpture and Industrial Design, Kansas City Art Institute. acwells@uh.edu

John Zemanek, FAIA. Adjunct Professor, Professor, Retired, Registered Architect.  Bachelor of Architecture, University of Texas at Austin; Bachelor of Science in Architecture, Texas A&M University; Master of City Programming, Harvard University; Master of Architecture, University of Texas at Austin.  jzemanek@uh.edu

Peter Zweig, FAIA. Professor. Registered Architect.  Bachelor of Architecture, Syracuse University; Bachelor of Arts, Syracuse University; Master of Architecture, Syracuse University.  pzweig@uh.edu