The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    University of Houston
   
 
  Nov 17, 2017
 
 
    
2013-2014 Undergraduate Catalog [Not Current Academic Year. Consult with Your Academic Advisor for Your Catalog Year]

Fall 2013/ Winter Mini Session 2013/Spring 2014/ Summer 2014


Academic Calendar  > Fall 2013/ Winter Mini Session 2013/Spring 2014/ Summer 2014

 


Timing is critical to University payment and refund processes. Before classes start, please review the following deadlines:

| Admissions | Enrollment Schedule | Financial Aid Applications | Payment and Refund Deadlines |

EVENTS / DEADLINES Fall 2013

Spring 2014

Summer 2014
Winter Mini 2013 Spring Regular Session 1 Spring Session 2 Spring Session 3 Spring Session 4 Spring Session 5 Spring Session 6 Summer
Mini
Summer
Session 1
Summer
Session 2
Summer
Session 3
Summer
Session 4
First day of classes.
Please also see notes below Re: college-specific dates and days summer sessions meet.
August 26, 2013 Monday
* see notes

December 21, 2013
Saturday
* see notes

January 13, 2014
Monday
* see notes
January 13, 2014
Monday
* see notes
January 13, 2014
Monday
* see notes
February 17, 2014
Monday

March 17, 2014
Monday

March 31, 2014
Monday
May 12, 2014, Monday June 2, 2014 Monday
* see notes
June 2, 2014 Monday
* see notes
June 2, 2014 Monday
* see notes
July 9, 2014 Wednesday
* see notes
Martin Luther King holiday.     January 20, 2014
Monday
January 20, 2014
Monday
January 20, 2014
Monday
               
Labor Day holiday. September 2, 2013
Monday
                       
Last day to add a class. September 3, 2013
Tuesday
December 22, 2013
Sunday
January 21, 2014 Tuesday

January 14, 2014
Tuesday

January 14, 2014
Tuesday
February 18, 2014
Tuesday
March 18, 2014
Tuesday
April 1, 2014
Tuesday
May 13, 2014, Tuesday June 3, 2014 Tuesday June 3, 2014 Tuesday June 3, 2014 Tuesday July 10, 2014 Thurs.
ORD - Official Reporting Day
(12th/4th class day).
September 11, 2013 Wednesday

December 24, 2013
Tuesday

January 29, 2014 Wednesday

January 16, 2014
Thursday

January 16, 2014
Thursday
February 20, 2014
Thursday
March 20, 2014
Thursday
April 3, 2014
Thursday
May 14, 2014, Wednesday June 5, 2014 Thursday June 5, 2014 Thursday June 5, 2014 Thursday July 14, 2014 Monday
Last day to drop a course or withdraw  without receiving a grade. September 11, 2013 Wednesday December 24, 2013
Tuesday
January 29, 2014 Wednesday January 16, 2014
Thursday
January 16, 2014
Thursday
February 20, 2014
Thursday
March 20, 2014
Thursday
April 3, 2014
Thursday
May 14, 2014, Wednesday June 5, 2014 Thursday June 5, 2014 Thursday June 5, 2014 Thursday

July 14, 2014
Monday

Last day to drop a course without hours counting towards the Enrollment Cap for Texas Residents.
NOTE: Tuition is higher for hours in excess of the cap.
September 11, 2013 Wednesday   January 29, 2014 Wednesday January 16, 2014
Thursday
January 16, 2014
Thursday
February 20, 2014
Thursday
 March 20, 2014
Thursday
April 3, 2014
Thursday
May 14, 2014, Wednesday June 5, 2014 Thursday June 5, 2014 Thursday June 5, 2014 Thursday July 14, 2014 Monday
Graduation: Regular filing period to apply online for graduation - non-refundable $25 fee. Go to myUH (Peoplesoft) to apply. April 5, 2013, Fri. through October 4, 2013, Fri. Fee is non-refundable.   November 2, 2013, Sat. through February 21, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable. November 2, 2013, Sat. through February 21, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable. November 2, 2013, Sat. through February 21, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable. November 2, 2013, Sat. through February 21, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable. November 2, 2013, Sat. through February 21, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable. November 2, 2013, Sat. through February 21, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable. April 4, 2014, Fri. through July 4, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable. April 4, 2014, Fri. through July 4, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable. April 4, 2014, Fri. through July 4, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable. April 4, 2014, Fri. through July 4, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable. April 4, 2014, Fri. through July 4, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable.
Graduation: Late filing period to apply online for graduation - nonrefundable $50 fee. Go to myUH (Peoplesoft) to apply. October 5, 2013, Sat. through November 1, 2013, Fri. Fee is non-refundable.   February 22, 2014, Sat. through March 21, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable. February 22, 2014, Sat. through March 21, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable. February 22, 2014, Sat. through March 21, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable. February 22, 2014, Sat. through March 21, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable.  February 22, 2014, Sat. through March 21, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable. February 22, 2014, Sat. through March 21, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable. July 5, 2014, Sat. through July 18, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable. July 5, 2014, Sat. through July 18, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable. July 5, 2014, Sat. through July 18, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable. July 5, 2014, Sat. through July 18, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable. July 5, 2014, Sat. through July 18, 2014, Fri. Fee is non-refundable.
Spring holiday; Independence Day holiday.     March 10- 15, 2014 Mon.-Sat.               July 4, 2014 Friday July 4, 2014 Friday  
Last day to drop a course or withdraw with a ‘W’. November 1, 2013 Wednesday January 3, 2014, Fri. March 26, 2014 Wednesday February 3, 2014
Monday
February 17, 2014
Monday

March 19, 2014
Wednesday

April 22, 2014
Tuesday
April 21, 2014
Monday
May 22, 2014, Thursday July 23, 2014 Wednesday June 27, 2014 Friday July 11, 2014
Friday
August 6, 2014 Wedday
Thanksgiving holiday November 27-30, 2013 Wed.- Sat.                        
Last day of class. December 7, 2013 Saturday January 10, 2014, Fri. April 28, 2014 Monday February 15, 2014
Friday
March 6, 2014
Thursday
March 29, 2014
Saturday
May 7, 2014
Wednesday
May 3, 2014
Saturday
May 30, 2014, Friday August 12, 2014 Tuesday July 3, 2014 Thursday July 17, 2014 Thursday August 12, 2014 Tuesday
Make up days for class days officially canceled by the university (if necessary) or Reading Period. December 9-10, 2013 Mon.-Tues.   April 29, 2014 Tuesday                    
Final examination period.
See: Current Final Exam Schedule.
December 11-19, 2013 Wed.-Thurs.   April 30 - May 8, 2014
Wed.- Thurs.
February 15, 2014
Friday
March 7, 2014
Friday
March 29, 2014
Saturday
 May 8, 2014
Thursday
May 3, 2014
Saturday
May 30, 2014, Wednesday August 13-15, 2014 Wed.-Fri. July 7-8, 2014 Mon.-Tues. July 22-23, 2014 Tues.-Wed. August 13-14, 2014 Wed.-Thurs.
Official closing of the semester/session/term. December 20, 2013 Friday January 12, 2014
Sunday
May 9, 2014
Friday
February 15, 2014
Friday
March 8, 2014
Saturday
March 29, 2014
Saturday

May 9, 2014
Friday

May 3, 2014
Saturday
May 30, 2014, Wednesday August 15, 2014 Friday July 8, 2014 Tuesday July 23, 2014 Wednesday August 15, 2014 Friday
Commencement. Please also see notes below. December 20, 2013
Friday see notes ***
May 9, 2014
Friday see notes ***
 
Deadline for Faculty to post Final Grades in myUH December 23, 2014
Monday
May 12, 2014
Monday
August 18, 2014
Monday

 

NOTE***

The following dates may vary by College; please check with your College as early as possible:

  • Deadline for submitting final draft of master’s thesis or dissertation to the committee
  • Deadline for submitting signed original and two copies of approved master’s thesis or dissertation for binding
  • Deadline for master’s and doctoral students to order caps and gowns.
  • Commencement / Convocation
    Please see the current UH Commencement Schedule. Information for some Colleges may also be found by searching the UH Events Calendar using “commencement”.
    See also: graduation application  and cap and gown  information in the Academic Regulations and Degree Requirements section of this catalog.

Notes about 2014 Summer Session Meeting Days:

  • Summer Session 1 (June 2 - August 12, 2014) - classes meet either Monday and Wednesday or Tuesday and Thursday.
  • Summer Session 2 (June 2 - July 3, 2014) - classes meet Monday through Thursday, Friday, June 6.
  • Summer Session 3 (June 2 - July 17, 2014) - classes meet Tuesday through Thursday.
  • Summer Session 4 (July 9 - August 12, 2014) - classes meet Monday through Thursday, plus Friday, July 11.