Jul 17, 2024  
2020-2021 Undergraduate Catalog 
2020-2021 Undergraduate Catalog [Not Current Academic Year. Consult with Your Academic Advisor for Your Catalog Year]

Tuition and Fees

General Information

Tuition and Fees

In accordance with Chapter 54 of the Texas Educational Code, the University of Houston may collect from students attending the institution any tuition, fee, or charge of any kind as permitted by law.

To assist you in estimating the cost of your tuition and fees, current rates and a tuition and fee calculator can be located on the Student Business Services website at: www.uh.edu/sbs/. This information is to be used for estimation purposes only. Tuition and fee charges are based upon the student’s residency status, course of study, and number of hours taken. Students should be aware that other fees, such as laboratory fees, course fees, parking decals, etc., are not included in the tuition and fee calculator estimates. The university reserves the right to update rates for tuition, fees and other charges as approved by university board of regents or the Texas Legislature. 

It is the student’s responsibility to be aware of all respective payment due dates. Payment due dates can be found on the Student Business Services website at: http://www.uh.edu/financial/payment/billing-due-dates/. Prior to enrollment each term all students will be required to acknowledge the payment terms agreement.

University Fees

University Fees are listed for both undergraduate and graduate students on the Student Business Services website. 

Depending upon your course of study, additional course/lab fees may be applicable. Please check with your advisor or the class listing to see if additional charges apply.

Miscellaneous Fees

“Miscellaneous Fees” may be viewed by accessing the Student Business Services Web site at www.uh.edu/sbs.

Course Auditing

Approval to audit must be approved by the dean of the college in which the course is offered. Students who choose to audit a class will pay the applicable rate for tuition and fees assessed to students enrolled in a for credit class.

Payment Plans

Installment Payment Plans

The University of Houston offers payment plans which allows students to pay tuition and fees in four installments. Students accept the installment plan through student self-service. In order to enroll students must pay a $25.00 service fee and a minimum of 25% of current term charges. Installment plan due dates are published at the following Web site: http://www.uh.edu/financial/payment/ under the Billing Due Dates section. All installments are due by the published due dates. Installments not paid by the due date will be assessed a $25.00 and late fee.

Deferred Payment Plan

The university offers two loan plans to assist students in paying their tuition and fees. These plans are referred to as the Emergency Loan Plan & Short Term Loan Plan.

  • Emergency Loan Plan
    • The Emergency Loan extends payment of the current term’s tuition and mandatory fees.
    • The emergency loan is due no later than either the 90th calendar day of the term or by the last class day, whichever comes first.
    • This loan does not cover room and board fees.
  • Short Term Tuition Loan Plan
    • The Short Term Tuition Loan covers 100% of all current term tuition and fees, as well as room and board charges.
    • This short term loan is due by the 45th calendar day of the term or by the last class day, whichever comes first.
  • Book Loans
    • Book loans are available each term and must be used during the first 20 calendar days of the term.
    • The Book Loan is $400.00 during the fall or spring term and $200.00 during the summer session.

University Payment Plans and Book Loans are only available online through student self-service. For more information please visit the following Web site: www.uh.edu/sbs or speak to a Customer Service Representative at the Welcome Center.

Students with a prior term balance will not be eligible to enter a new payment plan or qualify for a book loan until all past due amounts are paid in full.

Tuition and Fees Exemptions and Residency Waivers

The University of Houston extends to students any waivers and exemptions for which they qualify. The university reserves the right to evaluate each individual waiver and exemption for compliance with existing regulations and will base any decision on the merit of such review.

Effective fall 2014, all Texas public institutions of higher education must comply with new legislation passed by the Texas Legislature that has been added to the Texas Education Code Section 54.2001 Continued Receipt of Exemptions or Waivers. In order to continue receiving certain waivers and exemptions, graduate and undergraduate students must now meet the University’s grade point average requirement for making satisfactory academic progress toward a degree or certificate in accordance with the institution’s policy regarding eligibility for financial aid. In addition, hours considered excessive under Texas Education Code, Section 54.014 Tuition for Repeated or Excessive Hours, may not be eligible for exemption.  

A listing of the most common statutory waivers can be located on the Student Business Services website at: www.uh.edu/sbsOnce there, select “Tuition and Fee Exemptions and Waivers.”

Tuition and Fees Refund Policy

Dropped Courses

Students who drop courses but maintain enrollment for that academic term (i.e., do not drop all their courses) may be eligible for a refund for the dropped courses(s) subject to refund guidelines established by the state legislature. Withdrawal after the first class day may result in the student owing money to the university. Students who have unpaid obligations under a payment plan may be liable for any unpaid obligations. Read Refunds Under Installment Payment Plans in this section for additional information. Please visit: www.uh.edu/financial/payment/refunds/ for the University of Houston refund schedule.

Administrative offices are not open on weekends. If the percentage of refund due to a withdrawal changes over a weekend, the student must submit their withdrawal to the Office of the University Registrar by 5 p.m. the Friday before that weekend in order to obtain the higher percentage of refund.

Any refund of charges calculated on dropped (or withdrawn) courses is determined by the drop (or withdrawn) dates on record. Refund percentages are found at: www.uh.edu/financial/payment/refunds/. Payments applied to an account will be subtracted from the total “remaining charges.” When payments received exceed the “remaining charges,” the excess will be returned to the student.

If a credit balance is the result of dropped or withdrawn courses, or an overpayment, or credit(s) issued on an account, and no financial aid has been received, refunds must be requested online by the student through myUH. If a credit balance is the result of the application of excess financial aid to an account, and eligibility for financial aid is maintained with the existing course load, then a refund will automatically be generated to the student. It is not necessary to access myUH in this situation to request a refund.

Optional fee refunds for such items as parking, yearbooks, etc., are processed in the respective offices or departments.

Students must withdraw from school or drop classes at the Office of the University Registrar, 128 Welcome Center, for these transactions to be recognized as valid. Students who have received financial aid may also be required to repay to the university a portion of their aid upon withdrawal.

Refunds Under Installment Payment Plans

Dropping courses or withdrawing from the university does not relieve a student of the responsibility for unmet financial obligations to the university. Students enrolled in installment payment plans must continue making payments until the nonrefundable portions of their accounts are paid in full.

Contact the Bursar’s Office for more information.

Undergraduate Tuition Rebate

As a Texas public baccalaureate-granting general academic university, UH is required to offer rebates to eligible students. UH shall rebate up to $1,000.00, pursuant to the procedures described in the Manual of Administrative Policies and Procedures, to those eligible undergraduate students who meet the criteria established within Section 54.0065 of The Texas Education Code.

For complete information on this policy and how to apply for the rebate visit: Tuition Rebate. Students must apply to their colleges for the rebates prior to receiving their baccalaureate degrees. Students must keep the institution apprised of their addresses for at least 60 days after their graduation date.

Undergraduate Enrollment Limit

Enrollment Cap

The Texas Education Code (54.014, Tuition for Repeated or Excessive Undergraduate Hours) applies only to undergraduate students who are Texas residents paying resident tuition and who enrolled for the first time in a Texas college or university in Fall term 1999 or after.  This code authorizes a limit on the number of hours those students may attempt while paying in-state tuition.

Attempted hours are calculated for courses in which a student is enrolled on the Official Reporting Day (ORD) (typically twelfth class day or fourth class day in summer), not by the courses in which a student receives a grade (passing, failing, or W).

When students to whom this law applies enroll for courses that exceed this limit, state law authorizes the university to charge additional fees up to a maximum of the out-of-state tuition rates. If you stop attending a class with the intent to drop, be sure you drop on or before the Official Reporting Day (ORD) (typically twelfth class day or fourth class day in summer) or these hours will count toward your in-state tuition limit. See your advisor if you have questions about this policy.

Course Cap

The State of Texas authorizes institutions to charge a premium tuition rate for courses attempted three or more times. Attempted hours are calculated for courses in which a student is enrolled on the Official Reporting Day (ORD) (typically twelfth class day or fourth class day in summer), not by the courses in which a student receives a grade (passing, failing, or W).